BATTLE HYMNS PRESS RELEASE - Inauguration Day 2017

BATTLE HYMNS PRESS RELEASE - Inauguration Day 2017
20 Jan 2017

Battle Hymns is a compilation album created in direct response to the current political situation in the U.S.A - it is a protest record! It will be released digitally on inauguration day in opposition to the incoming administration.

The album is available pay what you want at

with all proceeds divided equally between Planned Parenthood, the ACLU and 

Battle Hymnsfeatures new unreleased music by Doug Martsch, Stephen Malkmus, Cristina Martinez, Jon Spencer, Mickey Finn, Mac McCaughan, Ash Bowie, Carrie Brownstein, Katie Harkin, Sean Croghan, Drew Grow, Mary Timony, Carl Newman, Corin Tucker, Peter Buck, Scott McCaughey, Bill Rieflin, Kurt Bloch, Kathy Foster, Rebecca Gates, Sam Coomes and Janet Weiss, with art by Chris Johanson and Johanna Jackson. Website magic by Cash Music. The collaboration was spearheaded and assembled by Sam Coomes and Janet Weiss of Quasi (who also serve as the backing band for some songs.) Participants generously donated their music, studios, art and time. 

Track Listing 

  1. Love Always (Kathy Foster) - "We Won't Go Back"
  2. Mac Mccaughan - "Happy New Year (Prince Can't Die Again)"
  3. Boss Hog - "Save Our Soul"
  4. Stephen Malkmus - "Midnight Cruisers"
  5. Drew Grow - "Time Bomb"
  6. MEDS (Carrie Brownstein and Katie Harkin) - "No More Fizz"
  7. Mary Timony - "Fight The Hate"
  8. Quasi - "Ballad of Donald Duck & Elmer Fudd"
  9. Libraness (Ash Bowie) - "A Kind of Survival"
  10. Filthy Friends (Corin Tucker, Peter Buck, Scott Mccaughey, Kurt Bloch, Bill Rieflin) - "Love In The Time of Resistance"
  11. Carl Newman - "Our Nero"
  12. Rebecca Gates - "NO DIVISION"
  13. Doug Martsch - "Fuck 2016"
  14. Sean Croghan - "Spider House"